Ditching the Microwave Oven and Staying Healthy

Caution-Signs-00483-baSo I’m sure you’ve all heard at some point or another that microwaves are bad… they hurt you, they hurt the food… etc. etc.

I haven’t used a microwave since 2008 or before. And even then I rarely used it.

How often do you find yourself using it?

In this article it says, ” The price on convenience is to compromise your health.” http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/05/18/microwave-hazards.aspx

It is so true.. Imagine the cement in the middle of the day, it’s already been under the heat of the morning sun and the afternoon is getting hotter. You know that trick of frying an egg on the cement because it’s so HOT?

That’s what your microwave does in 5 seconds, not only does it do it in very little time by re-arranging the molecular structure of your food, but microwaving your food in plastic causes toxins to be released into your food.. then you eat it..

There is no nutrients left in the food whatsoever. mmmm Sounds tasty!

I won’t keep going on about the dangers, because they’re very real and very true. Take a second to reflect on your food habits and what brought you to them, what are you going to do to change it?

A healthier alternative is reheating your food on the stove, or buying a toaster oven. It doesn’t have to be fancy and huge (although a larger one, you could easily cook a chicken in, and save money on electric!)

I do a little of both.. mostly on the stove top. It is the fastest way to reheat my leftovers in a sufficient time manner, and have it coming out still delicious. NOT rubbery as you sometimes get with your microwave.

White Chili

Looks delicious right? White Chili reheated… always so yummy and MUCH more fresh!

That probably would have looked like sewage had it come out of the microwave and have “hot spots and cold spots” as microwaves never heat thoroughly unless microwaved for a really long time.. I think I’m going to switch to MW whenever I refer to the microwave so I don’t have to type it out. O.K… Moving on!

The trick with reheating on the stove is adding a little water or olive oil let it heat up for a second then add your food and stir the water and food up. Presto.. you’re done! And it doesn’t require that much effort. 

Popcorn Lover? This is the thing I LOVE about un-MW-ed popcorn… IT TASTES SOOO MUCH BETTER!!! Its light and fluffy.. and you don’t even need butter.. just a little kosher salt. And you’re getting less caloric intake from stove top popped corn because its not pre-packaged with whatever that butter stuff is that’s in the MW popcorn bags. Ditch it, you’ll never go back. If you REALLY want butter.. heat some up on a low setting in a small sauce pan. I find that it makes the popcorn too greasy for my personal taste in popcorn.. but to each his own!

popcornMaybe I’ll do a tutorial on making this amazing popcorn, without a lot of fuss soon..

Baby items…

Heating up baby bottles in the microwave is just THE most ludicrous thing I have ever heard of. Don’t do it. Your breast milk isn’t suppose to be MW-ed in the first place because it kills all nutritional value, but if you are formula feeding.. just don’t do it. All you have to do is fill up a sauce pot with water about 1/3 the way up and set the heat to medium or low. Insert your bottle (glass preferably) and the milk will be warm in no time. I did this same trick ( with smaller amounts of water) to glass jarred baby food like peas or sweet potato.

I know it may feel like an eternity when it’s the middle of the night. But you are Mommy.. and providing the most healthy nutrition for your baby is your responsibility. So be responsible and take the extra time. You can’t go back and unmicrowave it, and certainly can’t take back what nutrition or crap you’ve fed your baby in the first years.

Some people add hot water from the tap… which I thoroughly disagree with. Tap water contains unfiltered organisms, minerals (some not good) and lets not forget about the awful taste. If you so choose.. you can pre-boil water to add to your formula for your baby. Or boil water every time you need to mix formula. Pour in the boiled, hot water and then add some ice cubes. I did that personally many times.

Lets talk about frozen foods for a moment, and why they are bad.

Salt (sodium) content is usually through the roof to aide in preserving the food through the making, freezing, and making again process to keep its original flavor. But honestly why would you want to ingest all that salt content plus all the other junk they put in it just for a quick fix. Frozen foods are prepackaged and truly a dietary nightmare. Then imagine heating it in the microwave WITH the plastic on top which releases MORE toxins into the food which particularly have been linked to cancer. Sigh..

All around.. not healthy.

Including but not limited to the “Steam in the Bag” options. Vegetables and rice.. among other things. I commend you for trying, but it is not the right path to “cook” anything in the MW, it’s more like zapping your food with a nuclear bomb and having  fall-out for dinner!

Steamers

Switching to a raw, more conservative diet is always a plus and it doesn’t have to be over complicated!! But you can always look for natural foods, and vegetables if so desired, that can be reheated on the stove or in the toaster oven. (Plus Green Giant is associated with… Monsanto). Yuck.

I know the more conventional way takes more time. But what’s bad about spending a little more time on our food to create something better? I will post my GO-TO meal for whenever I just don’t feel like going all out in the food department. It’s simple, fresh, and fast!

I hope you are inspired to try a little harder when it comes to food. And it has enlightened you to learn more. Thanks for the read!

Happy Eating.. And Keep Smiling!

JESSICA

3 thoughts on “Ditching the Microwave Oven and Staying Healthy

  1. Hi Jessica,

    I’m not actually responding to this particular post but just wanted to identify myself and let you know I’m on board with your site. It was good chatting with you in the Nugget market last week. I have to admit I’m not familiar with blogging and, heaven forbid, haven’t even signed up with Face book. I had to get help from my daughter in order to know how to respond via an e-mail. Forgive my ignorance. Although I must admit that I, like you, long for many of the “olden” ways of doing things. Some technology is good and some, hmm, not so much. I’m trying to reach a balance in my life.:-)

    Anyhow, I just wanted to say “Hi” and it was a pleasure meeting you and Elle. Take care and keep in touch.

    God Bless, Joyce

    • Joyce!
      You are so sweet, thank you for looking me up! It was so lovely to meet you and chat a little. Thank you! I enjoyed it so much, and it is such a breath of fresh air to carry a decent conversation! 🙂
      And it is probably the best that you aren’t as “savy” with technology as you said.. some is good and some (a lot) are bad. Hindering us from living life to the fullest.
      One of my mother’s best friends in Florida, her name is Joyce. I told her about our meeting and she was thanking God and wondering if we were going to stay in touch.
      I hope we do, and thanks for giving my “rants” a read!
      Blessings,
      Jessica

  2. Pingback: Surviving Without A Microwave | Loves Old Stuff

Leave a Reply

