(Even Better) Broccoli Salad

Hello friends!

On upon moving here I loved the selection of healthy foods and did my best to make this recipe yummy and satisfying to the taste buds yet healthier. Its so versatile for BBQs and lunches and helps stay cool.

First, everyone knows mayonnaise and sugar are in broccoli salad, but I didn’t want to use mayo with soy lecithin (Most soy products in today’s ingredients are GMO) in it or regular sugar. So I found a natural non-gmo mayo, and organic sugar. Lets get started!

Ingredients of salad:
3-4 heads of broccoli
1 cup raisins
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1 medium onion chopped (or I used one shallot, chopped)
4 large strips of bacon, crispy, dried on a paper towel then crumbled( I used a local brand, applewood smoked, with no nitrates or preservatives)

Dressing ingredients:
1 cup mayonnaise
2 tbsp white wine vinegar
1/4 cup or so of organic sugar

Make the dressing and whisk together in a separate bowl. Set aside.

Cut florets off broccoli, make them small and bite size.

Measure out the rest of your ingredients and throw in with the broccoli.

Pour dressing over broccoli mixture, mix well, chill in fridge for at least 2 hours before serving and voila! So easy and simple! Will definitely be a hit at your next get together or make it and have left overs for snacking!

Servings: about 8

Broccoli Salad

I loved the flavor of this mayonnaise, the ingredients are so simple! It is very rich, you can find it here:

http://shoppe.sirkensingtons.com/jar-of-classic-mayonnaise/

Side Note: A lot of people don’t like raw broccoli, and honestly neither do I very much! But once the dressing saturates the ingredients and broccoli it turns much softer and is great with sandwiches or plain ole’ munchin!

If you decide to make this let me know how it turns out for you or if you add or take away anything… Happy Eating!

JESSICA

6 thoughts on “(Even Better) Broccoli Salad

  1. Sounds ans looks delicious. I am trying to stay away from foods that have an endless list of ingredients that I can’t pronounce. I don’t really know where to start of what to replace them with. What’s really not good for you and what should I stay away from? Would love your opinion on this!

    • Hi Authoress!
      Love that name by the way! First, I am not a dietitian, but I have made attempts to convert from over processed foods to a more natural state of being. There are tons and tons of things that are not good for us. But here are some nasties that stick out for me… Cottonseed oil (GMO), Soy based products (GMO), Canola oils (vegetable even) (GMO), Refined Sugar ( from Sugar beets they are a GMO crop), Corn, Corn based products, Zucchini, and Hawaiian Papaya. They are all GMO derived and thus must stick clear of. Unless you are buying organic, you know the farmer and resources. Reading labels has really put my mind at ease. Some people are wondering if Gluten in our bread has been the link to some digestion issues, I do buy some gluten free products, but I am not exclusive. Switching from frozen pre-packaged meals, not supporting Monsanto and their followers and thus users of their products. You can find that list here: http://www.realfarmacy.com/printable-list-of-monsanto-owned-food-producers/
      I am very passionate against this company… can you tell? Which has sparked me to gain more knowledge on whats better. I don’t eat chips, and the ones I do eat are all natural sprouted grains and sweet potato. Good food and natural choices don’t necessarily mean they taste horrible.. most of the time they taste BETTER!
      Even most Honey nowadays is not even HONEY! Its mixed with High fructose corn syrup… (GMO)… buy it raw its much better for you.
      I hope this helps a little! If you have anymore questions about this, feel free to ask and I will help as best I can!
      (I really could write a post on this subject) haha!

    • Also.. sticking mostly to the outer aisles of the grocery store. Middle aisles are full of processed foods. I mainly go there for Peanut Butter (Organic) and Brown Rice 🙂 Being Selective is key!

      • Thank you so much. This is excellent. I am trying to make a list of products I can make at home, too. Tastes so much better! But it’s not something that happens overnight, obviously! Thank you for your input. I am going to look at the link you shared. And all the info on GMO was really helpful! Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Broccoli Bacon Salad Recipe – And Story of My First Encounter with Broccoli | herChristianHome.com

Leave a Reply

